Pollito Dev
November 6, 2022

My time in Runaid

Posted on November 6, 2022  •  3 minutes  • 486 words  • Other languages:  Español

(PILP Google Maps photo, where Runaid offices are located)

Runaid is a small software bussiness in an Argentinian town of 13k people (La punta, San Luis). At my time of departure, in the Whatsapp chat group we were 30 people, including developers, leaders, the guy from infra, the lady from human resources, and the two bosses. Apparently it was always related to the government of San Luis, since the main projects are government projects.

In September 2021 I started looking for my first formal job as a web developer. It was a time in my life when I needed a fixed and stable income. After getting my feet wet with some HR ignoring me and multi-stage technical interviews, googling on a Friday afternoon I found Runaid, and submitted my CV.

Monday afternoon I get a call. I really don’t remember which of the two bosses it was, but instead of asking me for an interview on Meet, giving me a challenge, or putting me in a stressful situation, he simply asked if he could start tomorrow. I couldn’t believe it, I had been talking for days with several human resources who had me coming and going with promises but nothing concrete.

On Monday night, September 13 2021, I cooked a plate of noodles, smiling from ear to ear, because it was the first time in months that I was gonna have something for dinner. I no longer had to go hungry at night to have enough money for the whole month, now I could have dinner (and I was also going to be able to eat on Saturdays and Sundays). And even though it was some grubby white noodles with a bit of salt, it was a great bowl of noodles.

At Runa I met people who are always willing to help, even if they are not project partners. Being so small, everyone knew each other, and had stories, and laughed. They were never on top of me controlling what I did, they give the developer a lot of freedom to explore, break, try, and figure out how things work. There were times where that freedom made me feel lost, but I think it’s an interesting way to set the new developer up with everything that’s going on, and I have to say it works. It’s the perfect place to start, and I’ve recommended it to everyone I know.

My departure is for pure reasons of personal and economic growth. I seek to scare myself again, to not understand, to feel satisfaction when I solve something that I didn’t know how to do. I’m not someone who plans for the future, I don’t know what I’m going to do next month, I don’t know if I’m going to be alive next month, so if I have to make decisions that make me leave my comfort zone I think the time is now.

Thnks Runa, see ya.

Hey, check me out!

You can find me here