Pollito Dev
November 13, 2022

So it seems that I am a Java developer now

Posted on November 13, 2022  •  3 minutes  • 581 words  • Other languages:  Español

How it started

A few weeks ago I received the typical message from a recruiter on Linkedin (“Hello, your profile is perfect for this position, I need someone who has the following blah-blah-blah skills”). When reading the desired skills, I fulfilled several except for the detail of having +3 years of experience, so I responded by saying “I only have one year of work experience, but I leave you my CV and my website”.

I coordinate an interview with her, and a few days later an interview with a project leader. These interviews did not have much technical load, I did not write a line of code, but they wanted to know about me, what I did in my day to day as a developer. It was all super comfortable and chill, I felt as if I was talking about programming with a classmate, not with a possible boss.

Here comes the climax of the story: the position that was offered to me was Java Spring Developer…

Life is too short to be coding in Java man.

For me Java is like lemon ice cream, a flavor I would never order but it’s not bad either. At least it’s not mint slush.

So… Was it worth giving up a job where I was extremely comfortable programming in environments I knew, without any real worries or demands, to feel lost in a project I don’t know, with people I don’t know? I think anyone would have said no, but that’s when I said yes, for the following reasons:

The main reason

The project in which I am going to participate is Yacaré , a virtual wallet that I have never heard of. When investigating a little about it, there was something that caught my attention: it is widely used in Misiones.

All my paternal family is from Misiones, my father was born there. As much as I don’t have a great relationship with all that family (I’m the one who never speaks for the family group), there was something inside me that thought “this means something, you have to accept”.

On Friday I inquired about moving there, either Santa Fe or Misiones, and was told that both places have an office ready for me. The part of me who loves to travel thinks about it a lot.

My first week at Applica mobile

Applica is a company from Santa Fe that provides development services in several projects (in my particular case, I am a developer for Yacaré).

My first impression is: they are very busy people. That’s good? Bad? The truth is, I don’t know, it’s fine with me.

They told me who I can ask when I don’t understand something, and left me at my own pace to read things and research. I haven’t been assigned any tasks yet, and I just joined the team at the end of something moderately important, so a pretty quiet week for me.

I’ll probably post something here when I make my first commit. In the meantime, maybe I’ll buy the book “Design Patterns”, to fully adopt the “Java Backend Developer” mentality.

Hey, check me out!

You can find me here