Pollito Dev
March 13, 2024

Anime Poster Generator 1: Sketching the idea

Posted on March 13, 2024  •  3 minutes  • 531 words  • Other languages:  Español

A new personal project, an excuse to learn some frontend.

Inspiration

A month ago or so, I decided to decorate my working space a little bit. I really like maps, so I printed two and put them on the walls.

room

Left one is a cropped version of Lisbon metro , right one is a Lisbon Diagram I found googling around.

I also have a fake cactus, a rubber ducky with a tiny hat, and a fluffy duck toy. Cookie jar all the way to the left, much important to have.

To continue filling the wall, I was interested in some minimalist anime posters, similar to the ones in the thumbnail of this post.

posters

What a surprise it was to find out that there is no page to create your own. The more logical option here would’ve been to just hop into canvas and create the ones I wanted. But as a developer, I decided to spend a whole week in automatize a task that otherwise would’ve required me only a few hours.

Here is born “Anime Poster Generator”.

User stories

Search animes:

Select desired anime:

Generate poster with original anime image

Attach and use custom images

Download poster

Basic architecture

After a little research looking for public apis and alternatives, I came out with this very basic diagram about how I’m gonna make this come true.

diagram

Next steps

Next lecture

Anime Poster Generator 2: Jasper old friend

Hey, check me out!

You can find me here